11 Man City Women players named in Team GB’s football squad

Eleven Manchester City Women players have been selected to represent Team GB in the 2022 Tokyo Olympic Games.

This summer’s games will mark only the second time a women’s football side has represented Great Britain at the Olympics, following their debut tournament at London 2012.

City will be well represented at the games as Lionesses Ellie Roebuck, Demi Stokes, Steph Houghton, Lucy Bronze, Keira Walsh, Georgia Stanway, Lauren Hemp and Ellen White, as well as Scotland international Caroline Weir, have all been picked in the 18-woman squad.

Karen Bardsley and Jill Scott, who have spent time on loan with OL Reignand Everton respectively during the past season, have also been selected by manager Hege Riise.

Video Loading

“We’re very proud of those who have made the final squad for Team GB – it’s an incredible achievement for them and will be something they will remember for the rest of their lives,” City boss Gareth Taylor said.

“To have eleven players in such a small squad speaks volumes about the quality and talent that these girls have – there is a great blend of youth and experience in there too.

“It will be a fantastic opportunity for the players, especially one that they’ll get to enjoy together, and everyone at Manchester City will be cheering them on this summer.”

Team GB will get their tournament underway against Chile on Wednesday 21st July, before facing hosts Japan on Saturday 24th July and concluding the group stage on Tuesday 27th July, against Canada.

Sign up to get even more from our Man City coverage

We want your views, Blues. You can become even more involved with our Man City coverage by signing up. This will unlock a whole host of things – including joining the comments and taking part in our special Q&As, where you can speak directly to our reporters about what’s happening at the Etihad Stadium this week and beyond.

Click here to get started.

Full Team GB squad:

Goalkeepers: Karen Bardsley (Manchester City and England); Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City and England)

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea and England); Lucy Bronze (Manchester City and England); Rachel Daly (Houston Dash and England); Steph Houghton (Manchester City and England); Demi Stokes (Manchester City and England); Leah Williamson (Arsenal and England)

Midfielders: Sophie Ingle (Chelsea and Wales); Kim Little (Arsenal and Scotland); Jill Scott(Manchester City and England); Keira Walsh (Manchester City and England); Caroline Weir(Manchester City and Scotland)

Forwards: Lauren Hemp (Manchester City and England); Fran Kirby (Chelsea and England); Nikita Parris (Olympique Lyonnais and England); Georgia Stanway (Manchester City and England); Ellen White (Manchester City and England)

Reserve players: Sandy MacIver (Everton and England); Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal and England); Niamh Charles (Chelsea and England); Ella Toone (Manchester United and England)